top of page
Search

Avatars! AI!

Overheard on the news while making my tea this morning--AI is transforming art. You can use a little program like Lensa to create an avatar in a variety of styles. I couldn't resist. It asked for 20 photos of me from my phone--I found just enough to please them and presto!

There I am as a sci fi queen, a librarian, a stern ruler, and comfy old lady. They missed on quite a few (that I deleted) in which my likeness was nowhere to be seen. But what fun!

I might use a few, but more interesting is the idea of a program generating photos in various styles. There is sure to be and probably already is controversy swirling over this capability. What will happen to commercial artists? To have their styles stolen, their livelihoods taken away by some app! We shall see. I love innovation and have always been an early


adopter, but I worry about that old concept--just because we CAN do it, doesn't mean we SHOULD. Misinformation bots armed with realistic graphics could cause even more strife. On the other hand, once the genie is out of the bottle, we might has well try to use it for good. Let's arm ourselves for the good fight!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page